Links

Links Related to North Little Rock History Commission:

National Park Service, Technical Preservation Services  Homepage (Provides links to a wide variety of technical information regarding historic buildings): http://www.nps.gov/history/hps/tps/

Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation (The ten standards to consider when working with historic buildings): http://www.nps.gov/history/hps/tps/tax/rhb/stand.htm

An illustrated and in-depth look at the standards and how they should be applied to a variety of materials and features: http://www.nps.gov/history/hps/tps/tax/rhb/index.htm

A detailed look at identifying and retaining significant interior spaces, features, and finishes: http://www.nps.gov/history/hps/tps/tax/incentives/avoiding_16.htm

Considerations and recommendations for changing or adding features found on the building’s site: http://www.nps.gov/history/hps/tps/tax/incentives/avoiding_8.htm

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) (The American with Disabilities Act includes a provision that  allows for alternative minimum standards when compliance measures would adversely impact a historic property.   Information on these alternative standards can be found at): http://www.access-board.gov/adaag/html/adaag.htm

A National Park Service Preservation Brief on the subject of ADA and  historic properties outlining how these requirements can best be implemented when working with historic buildings can be found at: http://www.nps.gov/history/hps/tps/briefs/brief32.htm

Design requirements for ADA accessibility, including illustrations, can be located at: http://www.access-board.gov/adaag/html/adaag.thm#4.2

Technical Information – Preservation Briefs (Information on treating specific materials and architectural features, as well as guidance on identifying and maintaining significant historic building elements, can be found at): http://www.nps.gov/history/hps/tps/briefs/presbhom.htm

Recent Past Preservation Network: http://www.recentpast.org

National Trust for Historic Preservation http://www.nationaltrust.org

 

Arkansas State  Government Agencies:

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (Provides information on historic properties in North Little Rock and throughout the state as well as information on education programs, tax credit  programs, conservation easement programs.): http://arkansaspreservation.org

Department of Arkansas Heritage: www.arkansasheritage.org

Old State House Museum: www.oldstatehouse.com

Delta Cultural Center: www.deltaculturalcenter.com

Arkansas Arts Council: www.arkansasarts.com

Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission: www.naturalheritage.com

Historic Arkansas Museum: www.arkansashistory.com

Mosaic Templars Cultural Center: www.mosaictemplarscenter.com

Arkansas Secretary of State: http://www.sos.arkansas.gov/

 

Local Links:

City of North Little Rock: www.northlittlerock.ar.gov

Laman Library: http://www.laman.net/

Argenta Community Development Corporation: www.argentacdc.org/

Arkansas Inland Maritime Museum: http://www.northlr.org/maritime-museum

Arkansas National Guard Museum: http://www.arnguardmuseum.com

MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History: http://www.arkmilitaryheritage.com/

Pulaski County Historical Society: http://www.pulaskicountyarkhistory.org/

Clinton Presidential Library: http://www.clintonfoundation.org/index.htm

 

Archives:

Arkansas History Commission: www.ark-ives.com/

Butler Center: www.cals.lib.ar.us/butlercenter/index.html

http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/

University of Arkansas at Little Rock Special Collections: http://library.ualr.edu/departments/archives

University of Arkansas Fayetteville Special Collections: http://libinfo.uark.edu/specialcollections

University of Central Arkansas Archives: http://archives.uca.edu/

 

General History Sites:

http://historybuff.com http://historychannel.com

 

Publications:

 www.ambungalow.com/ambungalow/home.htm

www.nationaltrust.org/magazine/

www.oldhousejournal.com/index.shtml